

## ARBORICULTURAL ASSOCIATION TRUSTEES BOARD MEETING

# Monday 7<sup>th</sup> September 2020 at 19.00pm. Via Zoom Video Conference - <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85948492762</u>

# Minutes of Meeting

Jaime Bray (Past Chair) chaired the meeting and welcomed all Trustees to the zoom meeting. He congratulated both Navin Sehmi and Paul Barton at being appointed at the AGM.

1/. Apologies for absence: Alan Simpson

# 2/. Minutes of the meeting that took place on $23^{rd}$ June 2020.

• In accordance with prior protocol these minutes will be reviewed at the next full Board meeting on 26th November 2020, together with any resultant action points.

# 3/. Election of Co-opted Trustees.

The trustees elected as Co-opted Trustees the following as co-opts to serve the year AGM 2020 to AGM 2021.

Laurence Vine-Chatterton (Treasurer).

- Laurence advised the Trustees that after some 7 years serving as a Trustee and the Associations Treasurer, he would be standing down at the 2021 AGM. All Trustees were unanimous in their thanks for Laurence's service to the association.
- Action CEO & Chair to start searching for Laurence's potential replacement.

Jaime Bray (Past Chair).

• The Trustees thanked Jaime for his offer to serve a year as a co-opted trustee; they acknowledged that retaining the past chairs knowledge and experience, at this difficult time, is more relevant than ever before.

## 4/. Appointment / Election of Trustee positions.

The trustees unanimously elected Michelle Ryan to serve as Association Chair for the year AGM 2020 to AGM 2021. All trustees offered their congratulations to Michelle.

With two candidates, Navin Sehmi and Jenny Long, putting themselves forward for consideration for the Vice Chair role, both candidates were invited to address all the trustees as to the rationale and reasoning behind their candidacy.

Following these short presentations, the Trustees elected Navin Sehmi to serve as Association Vice Chair for the year AGM 2020 to AGM 2021.



## 5/. Appointment of Trustee representatives.

After discussion it was agreed that the following trustees would serve as Trustee representation on the committees

- a. Education and Training Ian Murat
- b. Media & Communications Jenny Long
- c. Professional Mike Sankus

#### 6/. To determine new committee members

Action – The CEO will distribute the application information submitted by prospective committee candidates to all trustees; trustees are asked to respond with any comments or concerns by Friday 18<sup>th</sup> September after which the CEO will invite all prospective candidates to the next scheduled committee meeting.

Action – CEO to schedule three committee (M&C/E&T/PC) meetings by the 16<sup>th</sup> October.

Action – CEO to remind all Committees to elect a chair at the first meeting following the AGM, where necessary.

- Education and Training (7 vacancies) six applications received from
  - i. Robin Jackson
  - ii. Andy Hirons
  - iii. Steve Proctor
  - iv. Mike Higgins
  - v. Luke Goldstone
  - vi. Tom Hamments

Note – Steve Westmore will be standing down as both chair and from the committee as of the AGM.

- Media & Communications (3 vacancies) one application received from vii. Joe Robson
- Professional (3 vacancies) two applications received from
  - viii. Graham Underhill
  - ix. Chris Wright

## 7/. Determination of any items to remain confidential.

• No items were identified as being confidential.

#### 8/. Date of Next Meeting

• Thursday 26th November 2020 – venue and timing to be advised.



The past Chair, Jaime Bray, offered his thanks to all trustees for their help and support over the past two year. He also congratulated Michelle and Navin on their election to Chair and Vice Chair positions.

The meeting closed at 7.53pm.

#### Distribution:

Jaime Bray	lan Murat	Jenny Long
Alan Simson	Alastair Durkin	Michelle Ryan
Navin Sehmi	Mike Sankus	Paul Barton
Laurence Vine Chatterton	Keith Sacre	