# Arboricultural Association Scottish Branch

# Annual General Meeting 2024 Minutes

Saturday 25 January 2025 Baxter Park, Dundee



Committee members present: Simon Stuart, Ruthe Davies, Nick Porter, Matt Cooper, Struan Dalgleish, Callum Braithwaite, Mark Foster and Chris Knapman.

- 1. **Apologies for absence**: Mike Charkow, Ronnie Barker and Alan McDowall
- 2. **Minutes from 2023 AGM**: these have been on the website for review. Approved by committee and members.

## 3. Officers' reports

- a. Chair: Simon Stuart, Chair reported on a number of successful events throughout 2024. He noted that the branch are considering moving the AGM to spring for future years in order to avoid problems caused by poor winter weather. He is also considering adding a summer social event and a Christmas social event to the branch calendar. He reported apologies from Emma Gilmartin who was booked to speak at this year's AGM event but was unable to make it due to stormy weather she will attend and speak at next year's event instead.
- b. Secretary: Ruthe Davies, Secretary reported that the AA currently have 169 members in Scotland of which 20 were new members for 2024. The Scottish membership currently brings in a total of £21,246.81 in annual membership fees for the Association. She reported that 2024's events in Scotland cost a total of £2,966 and generated £2,980 in income which means an overall £14 profit from Scotland's activities.
- c. Editor: Nick Porter, Editor reported a total contribution of eight articles from Scotland to the Arb Magazine in 2024: four event write-ups, three opinion pieces and one awareness-raising piece.

### 4. Appointment of Committee

Struan Dalgleish stepped down from the committee after eight years of service including five years as branch secretary.

Thomas Brock, an arborist from Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh, joined the committee. He was put forward by Matt Cooper and seconded by Mark Foster.

Committee members Simon Stuart, Ruthe Davies, Nick Porter, Mike Charkow, Matt Cooper, Callum Braithwaite, Mark Foster, Chris Knapman, Ronnie Barker and Alan McDowall were all re-appointed to the committee for 2025.

The Chair announced that, while new committee members would need to be formally voted on at the AGM, it had been agreed that in future years we could second a temporary member on part way through the year if this was agreed by the committee.

#### 5. Committee officers

The four branch officers are currently Simon Stuart (chair), Mike Charkow (vice-chair), Ruthe Davies (secretary) and Nick Porter (editor). All four officers will remain in post for 2025.

The Chair encouraged anyone who is interested in taking the Chair role in future to approach him for a discussion.

6. **Any other competent business**: None.