Arboricultural Association - Scottish Branch

Minutes of the Scottish Branch 2023 AGM held at Crathes Castle, Banchory on the 3rd February 2024.

1. Apologies for absence:

Apologies for absence were received from Alan MacDowall, Chris Knapman, Ronnie Barker and Paul Hanson.

2. Approval of 2021 AGM Minutes:

The Minutes from last year's AGM are posted on the AA web site and have been available for review. These were duly approved by the Committee and Members.

3. Matters arising from the 2022 AGM Minutes

None.

4. Officer's reports:

4.1 Chair

Chair, Chris Simpson thanked the committee and office bearers for their hard work over the past 12 months.

He thanks the members who attended the preceding talks and those who had stayed on to attend the AGM.

He provided a summary of Branch activities over the past 12 months which had seen the 6 successful events. He thanked those involved in the organization and running of these seminars, tours and workshops.

He gave a summary of income made by the branch and noted the branch has made a small surplus over the past 12 months. Income was £3840 and expenditure £3200.

He concluded by noting he would be stepping down as chair after 5 years.

4.2. Secretary

Struan Dalgleish reported that the committee had met virtually via Teams on 4 occasions and thanked the members for their good attendance.

He encouraged those present to consider joining the committee, adding that those wishing to do so would need to approach the secretary prior to the AGM.

He shared details of the Branch membership noting that, including all grades membership had grown from 151 at the end of 2022 to 160 in at the end of 2023.

Struan finished by saying he would be stepping down from the Secretary role after 5 years.

4.3 Editor

Nick Porter was pleased to report on an excellent year of Scottish contributions to the 'From the Branches' section of the Arb Magazine and expressed his gratitude to those who had provided the 17 articles published in 2023.

He added that he would remain in the role of Editor for the coming year.

5. Appointment of Committee

Chris Simpson would be stepping down from his role as chair and leaving the committee. He was thanked, on behalf of the Committee by Matt Cooper and Mark Foster, who presented him with a gift of appreciation for his involvement with the Scottish Branch over the past 25 years.

Alan MacDowall would step down as Vice Chair after 5 years in the role and remain on the Committee. He was thanked for this input by Chris Simpson.

Struan Dalgleish would be stepping down from the role of Secretary and remain on the committee. He was thanked for his work as secretary by Chris Simpson.

No new Committee Members would be added.

Committee members Struan Dalgleish, Nick Porter, Alan McDowall, Matt Cooper, Mark Foster, Simon Stuart, Mike Charkow, Chris Knapman, Callum Braithwaite, Ruthe Davies and Ronnie Barker had all indicated they were happy to continue for another year and were duly re-appointed.

6. Election of Officers

The four Office holders were appointed by the membership.

Simon Stuart, Chair.

Mike Charkow, Vice Chair

Ruthe Davies, Secretary

Nick Porter would remain Editor.

7. Any other competent business.

New Chair Simon Stuart noted that planning for events in 2024 were already underway.

Struan Dalgleish AA Scottish Branch Secretary.