#ARBatwork #ArbMatters #PledgeLessPlastic & 1987 storm 2018 3ATC 50th annual AA AA Awards accreditation advice AFL aftercare AGM Agrilus Biguttatus aid air quality Alert Alex Kirkley amenity Amenity Conference Ancient Tree Forum Annual Awards APPGHG apprentice apprenticeship Apprenticeships Approved Approved Contractors ARB ARB Approved Contractor ARB Approved Contractors ARB at work ARB Magazine ARB Show arb training ArbAC Arboricultural Association Arboriculture arborists Arbsafe ash dieback Assessments atf Australia Autumn Review award Awards Barcham Trees Bark Beetle Bartlett Bartlett Tree Experts bats beetle beyond ism Bill Matthews biochar biodiversity biosecurity branch Branches Brexit bs5837 bursary business Call for papers Campout Canker stain of plane carbon CCS Cellular Confinement Systems CEnv Ceratocystis Ceratocystis platani chainsaw chalara Charles charter Charter for Trees chelsea Chelsea Flower Show Claus Mattheck climate climber climbing Colleges committees competiton conference Confor conifers conservation Consultant consultation Contractor Coroner Council Countryside Stewardship cross industry news Cryphonectria parasitica Cumbria DART Date for your diary deadwood death defra Design Devon disease document dothistroma EAC East Anglia ecology Economic Report economy Ecotricity education Electricity England EPF equipment Europe European Arboricultural Council European Wood Pastures exeter Exhibitors Fatality Fera Fine flood flooding Forest Research forestry Forestry Commission forests FSC Fund4Trees funding fundraiser gardening GDPR Geocells government grants Green Brexit Green Infrastructure Green Infratructure guidance Guidance Note 2 guides Hazard Tree Health Helliwell Help Henry Kuppen Horse Chestnut horticulture HRH HRH Prince Charles HS2 HSE ICF Infographic InfraGreen International Urban Forestry Congress Investigating Tree Archaeology Conference Ips typographus Irma irrigation ISA iso i-Tree IUFC Job Karabiner Kew land-based Landscape Institute Landscape Show landscaping Lantra law Leaf Minor Lectures legislation London longevity LTOA Mayor of London Melbourne Member Benefit mentor Midlands moth' NASA National Geographic National Tree Week NATO News nominations Northern Northumberland notification NTIS NTOA NTOC oak 'oak Oak Processionary Moth Oak-boring Beetle obituary Observatree opm Padua parks parliament Perennial Pests and Diseases petition Phytophthora planning Planning Law planting Plumpton College policy poll Power Prince Charles Prince of Wales processionary Protect and Survive protected tree protection Quotatis ramorum Registered Registered Consultant Registered Consultants Rememberance Day Report Rescue research Resilience response retrenchment review RFS rhs Ride4Research rigging Rodney Helliwell rogue tree surgeons RSFS Safety Safety Bulletin Saftey Scotland Scottish Branch SDG Accord security seminars Share Sheffield Show Site Guidance skills SocEnv soil soils South East SRWP staff statement Stationary Rope statutory STIHL strategy student Student Conference survey Sustainable Soils Alliance Sweet Chestnut sweet chestnut blight TDAG Technical Officers tender Thames & Chiltern The Arboricultural Association The Woodland Trust Thinking Arbs Day Timbersports Tools TPO Trading Standards trailblazer training transport Tree Tree Champion Tree Council Tree Health Tree Inspection tree loss tree management Tree of the year Tree Officer Tree officers tree register tree species Tree Surgeons Tree Week tree-felling TreeRadar trees Trees, People and the Built Environment trust' trustee Trustees TrustMark UAG Uitlity UK favourite ukas UKWAS urban forest Urban Forestry Urban Tree Cover urban trees VETcert veteran trees video Videos volunteer VTA Wales watering solutions webinars website Western Westonbirt Wharton women in arboriculture woodland woodland trust woods World Environment Day Xylella young arborists

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Arboricultural Association.

Share this story

Two New Trustees Elected

Last Updated:  04/10/2018

Arboricultural Association 2018 AGM

The 2018 Annual General meeting took place on the evening of Monday 10th September and saw Jenny Long and Michelle Ryan elected as two new Trustees with Alastair Durkin re-elected for a second term.

Alastair Durkin

Alastair Durkin

Alastair has a strong belief in the vision and objectives of the AA, having volunteered much of his time over the past few years contributing to several Government and industry consultations on behalf of the Association. He has also been a great advocate for the allocation of greater marketing resources to grow the AA’s presence. As well as being a Trustee, Fellow member Alastair is also a committee member and Treasurer of the South East Branch, where he has contributed to developing an excellent training programme for members in the region.

Alastair said he was

“very proud to have been re-elected for a second stint at this year’s AGM. My personal focus will be on supporting the Association in its communication outside its membership. particularly in light of the appointment of Sir William Worsley as the Government Tree Champion.”

In a positive step forward for diversity and the new Women in Arboriculture Group, the remaining positions were filled by Jenny Long and Michelle Ryan; both are core members of the group.

Jenny Long

Jenny Long

Jenny is determined to see more understanding and recognition of the Arboricultural industry; cutting out rogue traders, raising industry standards and ensuring the right development opportunities, training and support for professionals are readily available.

On being elected Jenny said:

“I am absolutely delighted that as a non-Arborist and one of few women in the industry, I have been appointed to the Board of Trustee and that my PR, marketing and Business Skills have been recognised as being of use to help develop and improve the Arborist industry. I look forward to working with the Association and alongside the Women in Arboriculture group to support and inspire other women, from climbers to consultants or tree officers to business owners like myself.”

Michelle Ryan

Michelle Ryan

Michelle Ryan is the Chair of the Women in Arboriculture Group and in her new role as Trustee she aims to support the delivery of the AA vision and strategy to ensure that it remains the voice of Arboricultural professionals.

Huge thanks must go to the dedicated work of our outgoing Trustees; Jonathan Cocking, who vacates his position to take up the presidency of the European Arboricultural Council, and to Ged Collins who has been an incredibly effective and passionate trustee. Thank you to every member who nominated and voted.

Find out more about:

Arboricultural Association Aims & Vision

Policies and Strategies

Women in Arboriculture Group